Stand for election!

What do the delegates do?

 

Delegates serving on the TEK General Council are distinguished members of the technology profession.

As the sovereign policymaking body of TEK, the General Council usually meets twice annually to decide how TEK will defend the interests of its members, what kind of member services it will provide, and how the profession will influence society as a whole.

Working on the General Council provides a superb overview of the labour market and access to a broad network of members across the profession. This link gives further details of the General Council’s work.

 

 

Who may stand for election?

 

All regular members and honorary members of Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland (TEK), and ordinary members of the Finnish Swedish Association of Graduate Engineers (TFiF) who belong to TEK, will be eligible to vote and to stand as candidates for election if their membership has been approved before 1 January 2020.

You may stand as a candidate for election to the TEK General Council in any electoral district, regardless of your place of residence, but you may only cast your vote in the district where you live.

Southern electoral district: Uusimaa (32 seats)
Western electoral district: Åland, Southern Ostrobothnia, Kanta-Häme, Central Ostrobothnia, Central Finland, Tampere Region, Ostrobothnia, Päijät-Häme, Satakunta and Southwest Finland (21 seats)
Eastern electoral district: South Karelia, South Savo, Kymenlaakso, North Karelia and North Savo (6 seats)
Northern electoral district: Kainuu, Lapland and Northern Ostrobothnia (7 seats)
The TFiF electoral district covers the whole of Finland (4 seats)
 

 

How do I stand as a candidate?

 

Candidate nominations will open on 1 January and close at 12 noon on 5 February 2020. Follow this link for details of the election calendar.

The easiest way to get involved is by contacting one of the current General Council factions or by establishing your own electoral alliance.

 

Contact details of General Council factions

iTyö: Jari Nummikoski, jari.nummikoski@nokia.com, +358 40 527 4614
Keskusta: Esa Pajala, eepajala@gmail.com, +358 50 432 7217
Kokoomus: Elina Wanne, elina@elinawanne.fi, +358 50 517 1171
Sosialidemokraatit: Sami Lehtonen, sami.lehtonen@welho.com, +358 40 053 0744
TEKin Nuoret: Pia Humalajoki (election representative), pia.humalajoki@gmail.com, +358 40 569 2989
Vihreät: Aino-Kaisa Manninen (election representative), aino-kaisa.manninen@vihreat.fi, +358 40 568 9426
Yhtenäinen TEK ja Teekkarihenki: Elina Honkala, elina.honkala@iki.fi, +358 40 861 4358

TFiFarna (TFiF-TEK members): Kimmo Leveelahti, kimmo.leveelahti@kandu.fi, +358 40 555 5544

Visit www.tek.fi/paatoksenteko (in Finnish) to see the members currently serving on the General Council, the Executive Council and the committees of TEK.

 

Founding an electoral alliance

Any group of no fewer than three members of TEK or TFiF-TEK who are eligible to vote may found an electoral alliance by signing a charter (the templates will be updated on this page, in Finnish) nominating a specified person or persons to stand as candidates in a specified electoral district or in specified electoral areas of a TEK electoral district.

The charter must be submitted to the election committee at TEK office (Ratavartijankatu 2 A, FI-00520 Helsinki) by no later than 12 noon on 5 February 2020.

An electoral alliance may nominate no more than twice the number of representatives to be elected from each electoral area. Nobody may stand as a candidate for more than one coalition. The programme of an electoral alliance will be published in the election materials and an electoral alliance may also have its own logo.

Electoral alliances may also choose to combine into an electoral coalition.

If you are planning to found a new electoral alliance and you wish to have it introduced in TEK-lehti, please contact TEK’s office before 8 January. Contact the Manager Editor of TEK-lehti, Henrik Muukkonen, at henrik.muukkonen@tek.fi

Contact election committee secretary Daniel Valtakari, daniel@tek.fi, for further details in standing as a candidate.